top of page
Search
  • Jeremy Costello

Best Picture Nom: Roma

Should Roma win Best Picture?

Me: Yes. I was really hoping it wouldn't be good. I was convinced it was just getting attention because it's yet another low-budget indie film using subtitles that was done in black and white, with the kicker that it is only available on Netflix. I am so glad I was proven wrong. The artistic decisions were spot-on, and the story was a vulnerable, humanizing, yet dull, tale of a maid's life. And you can bet that the Academy loves minimalistic approaches to filmmaking and simplistic stories with deeper tones and meanings.


The wife: No. I thought it was boring. I just didn't get the point of the movie. It didn't feel like it was trying to say anything. There probably was symbolism that I missed completely, but to me, there wasn't much point to it. I'm also not a fan of a story being told with subtitles.


Do we recommend this movie?

Me: This movie is not for everyone, so it would be really hard to give a blanket recommendation. But if you want to appreciate an artistic approach intertwining ever so slightly with a touching story, this will not let you down.


The wife: Not really. It was boring, then sad, then boring again. And I didn't think the acting was all that great, either, though that could be because I don't understand their language and I had to read the subtitles very intently.


The best parts of this movie?

Me: It took me a long time to understand it, but the directing is superb. The wide-angle shots with little to no movement coupled with the black and white film bring to life the undertone that this is simply the boring life of a simple maid, no matter how epic, tragic, or emotional any moment she encounters might be. It's an incredible juxtaposition that tells more of the story than the simple events do.


The wife: I liked the realism aspect of it. It didn't have a Hollywood feel to it. It just felt real. The characters all felt real, too.


The worst parts of this movie?

Me: I didn't care for the acting. Yalitza Aparicio was stiff practically the entire movie as Cleo. If she wins Best Actress, it'll be because of what her role represents more than how she actually portrayed it.


The wife: Watching her baby die was sad. The boyfriend being a jerk was sad. I just didn't feel like there was any feel-good moments. I understand it's depicting real-life stuff, and that isn't always happy stuff, but there are also a lot of happy moments in life they could've added in to balance it.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Never Miss a Post. Subscribe Now!

Subscribe here so you don't miss any of my fantastic work.

© 2023 by Kathy Schulders. Proudly created with Wix.com 

  • Grey Twitter Icon
bottom of page