top of page
Search
  • Jeremy Costello

Ms. Marvel S1 premiere: Not Another Teen Superhero


I realize one 50-minute episode that introduced a new character to the MCU is, in no way, enough to judge said character, but if history is any guide, I already don't like where Ms. Marvel is taking us or how it will be executed. I'll refrain full judgment until the end, obviously, but my confidence already is a little shaken.


Back in the early days of the MCU (saying it that way makes it sound like it's been eons), superhero characters were super, sure. And like Kamala's story in the season premiere, many of those characters' origin were largely out of their control or the results of accidents. But what made characters like Steve Rogers, Thor, or even Tony Stark after his change of heart in the first Iron Man so special was they also were heroic. They stepped up to whatever challenge beset them and faced it like they felt it was their calling to do so. They crossed a threshold into superhero believability, which made it easy and fun to root for them as they saved the world a thousand times over.


Some of these Disney+ shows are forgetting that latter half of a superhero's origin story. Much like Hailee Steinfeld's Kate Bishop character in Hawkeye, Kamala is merely a fan girl of an Avenger. While it's only been one episode, she has yet to show any reason why she should be considered heroic. Yes, she obviously is going to stumble upon some situation where she has to figure out how her powers work and use them for good (presumably), but I'm getting tired of these characters (particularly the teenagers) who just randomly come across some form of powers and just start using them until something happens. These situations don't make the character unique or super. It's only the superpower that makes them stand out. What's worse with these newer MCU characters is it seems like anyone could turn into this character. No one else has Stark's or Strange's smarts, Cap's heart and integrity, or Thor's worthiness to hold Mjollnir (other than Cap! I suspect Thor: Love and Thunder will change that, though). Heck, even Black Widow and Hawkeye earn their keep after years of "super" training that proved they were better than the rest.


I know practically nothing about how the character Kamala Khan is portrayed in the comic books, (nor do I really care), and I'm aware that Marvel altered her powers a bit for this show. But seeing Kamala gain her powers after one episode just proves to me that her path to become a superhero is not one that will place her among the pantheon of great MCU superheroes. Instead, she seems to be following the path of someone like Rey from The Force Awakens. Many fans don't appreciate these characters who progress in a backwards order.


Hopefully Kamala proves me wrong. A montage of her figuring out both cool and wrong ways to use this bracelet item is inevitable, and sure, it makes sense that a kid would act that way, much like Peter Parker first did with his web shooters when he turned into Spidey. But I'm already sensing (see what I did there?) that Kamala will not earn anything or prove she belongs with the big guns, including her idol Captain Marvel.


The debut episode sure tried awfully hard to convince me I was having fun while watching her have fun. Look at all the cool, zippy ways text messages and emojis display on the screen, as if they were artwork in the environment of a comic book! And what about when Kamala and her friend (boyfriend?) Bruno rode their bikes on the sidewalks, and pictures were drawing their stories on the sides of buildings as they were telling them? And hey, the counselor is cool because he lets the kids call him by his first name; this show how relatable he is! Seriously, is all of this the only way Marvel thinks it can grab and maintain the attention span of Gen Y/Gen Z viewers? I guess I should've known asking for more than this would be too much, because based on what I see on social media, teens/young adults sure aren't any more mature in real life.


I did like some of the subtext with Kamala and her parents, who were the only source of anything remotely serious and weighty in the episode. As someone who is half Middle-Eastern, I've witnessed firsthand similar cultural pressures that Kamala's Pakistani family is putting on her. Her mother Muneeba doesn't care about Kamala finding her own way or having her own life; rather, Muneeba just expects Kamala to live a life that would be pleasing to her and make her look better to her peers. Not cool. The amount of disappointment in Muneeba when she catches Kamala sneaking back home from AvengerCon is so palpable, guilt-driven, and manipulative. Yeah, because clearly Kamala's rebellious act was meant to hurt her mother and wasn't at all about a 16-year-old girl who just wants hang out with her friends at a cool event and show off her Captain Marvel cosplay skills.


Speaking of the always-missing superhero, I know The Marvels will bring Kamala and Carol Danvers together, along with Monica Rambeau (girl power!). I'm curious if Danvers will appear in this show at all; I'd guess a post-credit-type scene in the finale at most, but who knows. Maybe Carol notices Kamala's ability to flip into whatever upside-down dimension we saw (I'm all caught up on Stranger Things Season 4, by the way) and then she flies to Earth to help her with whatever bad things I'm sure will pop up through the rest of the season.


I probably sound more down on the show than I really feel. It was a fine opening episode. Although the cheeky, fan-servicey self-referential jokes are getting way out of hand, I like how connected this show felt to the MCU. I felt the same when watching Hawkeye in the episode that featured the Avengers Broadway show. Moon Knight was refreshing because it didn't rely on heavy connections, but I don't want all the shows to feel isolated.


The last thing I'll say is Marvel continues to make it obvious that any single show or movie only exists to set up the next big thing. Kamala is yet another teenager who undoubtedly will be a key player in the inevitable Young Avengers story. And as I mentioned, this show clearly will set up The Marvels in some way. Until then, though, I just hope the current story is worth watching on its own.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Never Miss a Post. Subscribe Now!

Subscribe here so you don't miss any of my fantastic work.

© 2023 by Kathy Schulders. Proudly created with Wix.com 

  • Grey Twitter Icon
bottom of page